May 26, 2024

10 records to be broken at the T20 World Cup 2022

Records for the most runs, wickets and catches in all ICC Men’s T20 World Cups are just some of the benchmarks under threat in the eighth edition of the tournament.

If records truly are made to be broken, here are 10 that could be smashed at the T20 World Cup 2022:

Players named in the T20 World Cup 2022 squads are in bold

Total runs

A standout in the early editions of the T20 World Cup, Mahela Jayawardena is the only batter to reach four figures for total runs across multiple tournaments.

The former Sri Lanka captain’s record is now under threat from India’s Rohit Sharma and Virat Kohli, with Australia opener David Warner also within striking distance.

Top 10: Total runs

Runs Matches
Mahela Jayawardena (SL) 1016 31
Chris Gayle (WI) 965 33
Tillakaratne Dilshan (SL) 897 35
Rohit Sharma (IND) 847 33
Virat Kohli (IND) 845 21
David Warner (AUS) 762 30
AB de Villiers (SA) 717 30
Shakib Al Hasan (BAN) 698 31
Kumar Sangakkara (SL) 661 31
Shoaib Malik (PAK) 646 34

Total centuries

Only eight batters have hit a ton in T20 World Cups and just one – Chris Gayle – has done it twice. The retired West Indies opener will now give others a chance to catch, and perhaps overtake, his benchmark for centuries.

Jos Buttler was the only centurion in the T20 World Cup last year, while Alex Hales announced himself with a ton in 2014, leaving the England openers best placed to claim the record from Gayle.

Leaders: Total tons

Runs Opposition, Year
Brendon McCullum (NZ) 123 Bangladesh, 2012
Chris Gayle (WI) 117 South Africa, 2007
Alex Hales (ENG) 116* Sri Lanka, 2014
Ahmed Shehzad (PAK) 111* Bangladesh, 2014
Tamim Iqbal (BAN) 103* Oman, 2016
Jos Buttler (ENG) 101* Sri Lanka, 2021
Suresh Raina (IND) 101 South Africa, 2010
Chris Gayle (WI) 100* England, 2016
Mahela Jayawardena (SL) 100 Zimbabwe, 2010

Total scores of 50 or more

While tons are hard to hit in T20Is, the top batters can regularly reach half-centuries.

India batter Virat Kohli will look to extend his incredible record for 10 scores of 50 or more, which have been made in 21 matches and while only being dismissed 11 times, but Rohit Sharma could yet claim this crown.

Seven batters have four scores of 50 or more in T20 World Cups, but Pakistan skipper Babar Azam is the only one set to have an opportunity to add to that tally in Australia this year.

Leaders: Scores of 50+

Scores 50+ Matches
Virat Kohli (IND) 10 21
Chris Gayle (WI) 9 33
Rohit Sharma (IND) 8 33
Mahela Jayawardena (SL) 7 31
David Warner (AUS) 6 30
Tillakaratne Dilshan (SL) 6 35
Shane Watson (AUS) 5 24
AB de Villiers (SA) 5 30

Most runs in a T20 World Cup

Virat Kohli also tops all-comers for runs scored in a single edition of the T20 World Cup and is the only batter to appear in this top-10 list twice.

Top 10: Runs in a tournament

Runs Year Matches
Virat Kohli (IND) 319 2014 6
Tillakaratne Dilshan (SL) 317 2009 7
Babar Azam (PAK) 303 2021 6
Mahela Jayawardena (SL) 302 2010 6
Tamim Iqbal (BAN) 295 2016 6
David Warner (AUS) 289 2021 7
Mohammad Rizwan (PAK) 281 2021 6
Virat Kohli (IND) 273 2016 5
Jos Buttler (ENG) 269 2021 6
Matthew Hayden (AUS) 265 2007 6

Total wickets

Bangladesh spinner Shakib Al Hasan will be back to extend his lead for the most wickets in all T20 World Cups, with India off-spinner Ravichandran Ashwin the closest in the count set to appear again this year.

Several others including Mitchell Starc (24) and Tim Southee (22) should rise into the top 10 but will need incredible tallies to catch the Bangladesh veteran.

Top 10: Total wickets

Wickets Matches
Shakib Al Hasan (BAN) 41 31
Shahid Afridi (PAK) 39 34
Lasith Malinga (SL) 38 31
Saeed Ajmal (PAK) 36 23
Ajantha Mendis (SL) 35 21
Umar Gul (PAK) 35 24
Dale Steyn (SA) 30 23
Stuart Broad (ENG) 30 26
Dwayne Bravo (WI) 27 34
R Ashwin (IND) 26 18


Only two bowlers have claimed four wickets or more in three innings at T20 World Cups, including Bangladesh spinner Shakib Al Hasan.

The 35-year-old veteran returns for an eight edition and may well claim the record for himself, though team-mate Mustafizur Rahman could instead surge to the top with a couple more devastating displays.

Leaders: Four-or-more-wicket hauls

4+ Wickets Matches
Saeed Ajmal (PAK) 3 23
Shakib Al Hasan (BAN) 3 31
Mustafizur Rahman (BAN) 2 10
Morne Morkel (SA) 2 17
Ajantha Mendis (SL) 2 21
Umar Gul (PAK) 2 24
Shahid Afridi (PAK) 2 34

Most wickets in a T20 World Cup

Only six bowlers have claimed 13 wickets or more in a T20 World Cup with Pakistan quick Umar Gul a standout for achieving it in each of the first two editions.

Leaders: Wickets in a tournament

Wickets Year Matches
Wanindu Hasaranga (SL) 16 2021 8
Ajantha Mendis (SL) 15 2012 6
Dirk Nannes (AUS) 14 2010 7
Adam Zampa (AUS) 13 2021 7
Trent Boult (NZ) 13 2021 7
Umar Gul (PAK) 13 2009 7
Umar Gul (PAK) 13 2007 7

Total catches

Former South Africa stalwart AB de Villiers was as reliable in the field as behind the stumps, and holds the record for the most catches at T20 World Cups.

New Zealand opener Martin Guptill and Australia batter David Warner are not far behind and could prove at this year’s T20 World Cup that catches win more than just matches.

Three players are equal on 13 catches at T20 World Cups, including West Indies all-rounder Daren Sammy who leads on his own for taking four in one match.

Leaders: Total catches

Catches Matches
AB de Villiers (SA) 23 30
Martin Guptill (NZ) 19 28
David Warner (AUS) 18 30
Rohit Sharma (IND) 15 33
Dwayne Bravo (WI) 15 34
Steve Smith (AUS) 14 18
Glenn Maxwell (AUS) 14 20
Ross Taylor (NZ) 14 28

Total keeper dismissals

Former India skipper MS Dhoni’s record for the most dismissals by a wicketkeeper at T20 World Cups looks safe, but South Africa’s Quinton de Kock and Australia’s Matthew Wade will hope to rise up the ranks with a deep run into the knockout stages.

Top 10: Total dismissals

Dismissals Matches
MS Dhoni (IND) 32 33
Kamran Akmal (PAK) 30 30
Denesh Ramdin (WI) 27 29
Kumar Sangakkara (SL) 26 31
Mushfiqur Rahim (BAN) 24 33
Mark Boucher (SA) 16 16
Quinton de Kock (SA 15 13
Matthew Wade (AUS) 14 13
Mohammad Shahzad (AFG) 13 19
Luke Ronchi (NZ) 12 9

Most keeper dismissals in a T20 World Cup

No keeper has yet claimed 10 dismissals across a T20 World Cup although six have come close with nine including Australia’s Matthew Wade last year.

Leaders: Dismissals in a tournament

Dismissals Year Matches
AB de Villiers (SA) 9 2012 5
Adam Gilchrist (AUS) 9 2007 6
Kamran Akmal (PAK) 9 2010 6
Kumar Sangakkara (SL) 9 2009 7
Matthew Wade (AUS) 9 2021 7
Quinton de Kock (SA) 8 2014 5
MS Dhoni (IND) 8 2015 5
Kamran Akmal (PAK) 8 2009 7
Matthew Cross (SCO) 8 2021 8


JKSSB Document Verification for various Health & Medical education Posts

Jammu Srinagar Daily Highway Traffic updates

Click here for JKExam Guide Free Study App

Join Telegram | Install App for Iphone and Android


India NewsJK NewsWorld News
This site uses cookies to deliver our services and to show you relevant Jobs Updates, Notifications, News and Ads. By using our site, you acknowledge that you have read and understand our Cookie Policy, Privacy Policy, and our Terms of Service

Copyright © 2010 to Present | JKUpdates | Designed by Bharat Softwares