Jun 13, 2024

J&K delimitation process complete as panel signs final order

Delimitation Commission sets 90 Assembly Constituencies in the region, 43 will be part of Jammu region and 47 for Kashmir region. 9 have been reserved for STs, out of which, 6 are in Jammu region and 3 in Kashmir.

Commission says one Parliamentary Constituency has been carved out combining Anantnag and Rajouri & Poonch of Jammu region.


Prime Minister Narendra Modi has promised the restoration of the region’s statehood after the elections

The Jammu and Kashmir delimitation commission on Thursday signed the final order for the delimitation of the union territory. The panel, that was tasked to redraw the boundaries of assembly and parliamentary constituencies in Jammu and Kashmir, concluded the delimitation exercise today, paving way for the much-awaited assembly polls in the Valley.

The delimitation ‘award’ will be made public detailing the number of constituencies and their size by bringing out a gazette notification once the report is submitted to the government. The decision is crucial as only after the delimitation exercise is over will the proposed elections take place in Jammu and Kashmir, which has been without an elected government since June 2018.

Prime Minister Narendra Modi has promised the restoration of the region’s statehood after the elections.

The panel, formed by the Centre in March 2020, is headed by former Supreme Court judge Ranjana Prakash Desai, and comprises chief election commissioner Sushil Chandra and deputy election commissioner Chander Bhushan Kumar, state election commissioner (SEC) KK Sharma and chief electoral officer Hridesh Kumar as its ex-officio members. It was granted a year’s extension and then another extension of two months in February this year to complete its task, for the term that was to otherwise end on March 6.

On Monday, the commission met various delegations in Jammu before leaving for Srinagar to meet the stakeholders there for the submission of its report. It met over 200 delegations and members of the civil society from Ramban, Rajouri, Poonch, Kishtwar, Kathua and Doda districts and heard them and received their representations.

Since the bifurcation of Jammu and Kashmir into the union territories of Jammu and Kashmir and Ladakh in August 2019, the commission has proposed increasing the number of seats in the union territory from 83 to 90. Besides, there are 24 seats in Pakistan Occupied Kashmir (PoK) that continue to remain vacant. Further, for the first time, nine seats have been proposed for scheduled tribes (STs).

The panel has also proposed six additional seats for Jammu and one for Kashmir. As of now, the Kashmir division has 46 seats and the Jammu division 37.

As per reports, the last delimitation panel took seven years to give its award in 1995 while this commission took little over two years to complete its task despite the coronavirus pandemic, a functionary pointed out.

Check PDF


📚 𝙎𝙎𝘾 𝙈𝙏𝙎 𝘾𝙤𝙪𝙧𝙨𝙚 Mock Test

🚨 𝙎𝙎𝘾 𝙈𝙏𝙎 Mock Test

👮‍♀️ 𝙎𝙎𝘾 𝘾𝙂𝙇 𝙩𝙞𝙚𝙧-1 Mock Test

👉 𝙎𝙎𝘾 𝘾𝙃𝙎𝙇 Mock Test

🚂 𝙍𝙍𝘽 𝙉𝙏𝙋𝘾 𝘾𝘽𝙏-2 Mock Test

🚆 𝙍𝙍𝘽 𝙂𝙧𝙤𝙪𝙥 𝘿 Mock Test

Feb 2021 – Aug 2021 – 07 Months Current Affairs PDF

Join Telegram | Install Mobile App


JK NewsJK UT News
This site uses cookies to deliver our services and to show you relevant Jobs Updates, Notifications, News and Ads. By using our site, you acknowledge that you have read and understand our Cookie Policy, Privacy Policy, and our Terms of Service

Copyright © 2010 to Present | JKUpdates | Designed by Bharat Softwares